Retraction Watch Database
(27 October 2018) Retraction Watch now has a unified database of retracted papers. JURN has the announcement. What you need to know.
Read Article
PhD theses – drawing attention to the often overlooked articles in open access repositories
(27 October 2018) Earlier this Open Access Week, university library staff throughout the UK celebrated #ThesisThursday, a day of focused attention on the less talked-about articles in open access repositories, PhD theses. Camilla Griffiths and Nancy Graham describe the work the LSE Library has led to digitise the theses of the School’s doctoral alumni, outlining…
Treasuring Trove: Why Australia’s digital heritage platform is so special
(26 October 2018) Australians have a truly unique resource in the National Library’s Trove, and it needs to be protected The National Library of Australia’s Trove brings together freely available content from libraries, museums and archives, supporting online discovery of the country’s documentary heritage. Trove is also that rare beast: a digital heritage platform with…
CERN collaborates with Japan’s NII on digital libraries
(15 October 2018) How we produce, share and preserve knowledge has transformed with advancements in technology and changes in publishing methods, especially in research. Particle physicists rely heavily on digital library platforms to archive, share and preserve research output. These platforms depend on Invenio, a digital library framework CERN has been developing since 2002. This…
OpenAIRE and DuraSpace partner to support greater functionality in the global repository network
(5 October 2018) On September 25, 2018, OpenAIRE and DuraSpace signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU). Both OpenAIRE and DuraSpace have a shared interest in a robust, interoperable, and functional network of repositories that provide value to the research community and contribute to Open Science and Open Access in Europe and the world. Repositories collectively…
World’s largest collection of Tibetan Buddhist literature now available on the Internet Archive
(4 October 2018) The Buddhist Digital Resource Center (BDRC) and Internet Archive (IA) announced today that they are making a large corpus of Buddhist literature available via the Internet Archive. This collection represents the most complete record of the words of the Buddha available in any language, plus many millions of pages of related commentaries,…
PKP and SciELO announce development of open source preprint server system
(22 September 2018) In recognition of PKP and SciELO’s twentieth anniversary, the Public Knowledge Project (PKP) and SciELO Program are entering into an agreement to develop a Preprint Server system on the principles that have guided these two organizations over the last two decades. These governing principles include recognizing the value of: (a) independent manuscript…
Reprints Desk partners with Dimensions to provide intelligent citation references and journal article stats
Reprints Desk and Dimensions Customers will benefit from a powerful combination of intuitive discovery, instant scientific literature access, and personalized data (21 September 2018, Encino, Calif., and London, U.K.) Research Solutions, Inc., a pioneer in providing cloud-based workflow solutions for R&D driven organizations, today announced that its wholly-owned subsidiary Reprints Desk and technology company Digital…
CAS collaborates with iChemLabs empowering scientists to do better research in less time with SciFinder-n
SciFindern provides relevant, highly actionable insights in an easy-to-use interface that integrates the touch screen friendly ChemDoodle chemical structure drawing tool. (18 September 2018, Columbus, Ohio) CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society, partnered with iChemLabs to optimize the efficiency of chemical structure drawing in SciFindern, especially in touch devices, using ChemDoodle®. Built on the…
Reprints Desk and Meteo broaden reach of Japanese medical information to life sciences researchers worldwide
Partnership with Japanese aggregator Meteo makes 1,368 medical journals and nearly three million Japanese articles available to reprints desk customers (28 August 2018, Encino, Calif., and Tokyo, Japan) Research Solutions, Inc., a pioneer in providing cloud-based solutions for scientific research, and its wholly-owned subsidiary Reprints Desk today announced that they concluded the first quarter of collaboration with…