(21 Apr 2025) ERIC stands for Education Resources Information Center and it is a curated online public library of 2.1 million educational documents that is funded and managed by the U.S. Education Department. The collection dates back to the 1960s and used to be circulated to libraries through microfiche. Today it’s an open access website where…
A brief outage has focused attention on scientists’ reliance on the US-government-funded website. (4 Mar 2025) A temporary outage of the US-government-funded PubMed database of biomedical literature over the weekend sent many researchers globally into a panic. Although the disruption does not seem to have been deliberate, and the service has since been restored,…
(27 Jan 2025) One of the world’s largest Holocaust archives was published online for the first time Monday, coinciding with Holocaust Memorial Day and the 80th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz. The Wiener Holocaust Library’s new online portal includes more than 150,000 documents — such as photos, transcripts and testimonies — detailing Nazi Germany’s…
(9 Jan 2025) [The Public Domain Review is] really excited to share with you the launch of our new sister-project, the Public Domain Image Archive (PDIA), a curated collection of more than 10,000 out-of-copyright historical images, free for all to explore and reuse. While The Public Domain Review primarily takes the form of an “arts…
(27 Aug 2024) The Dunhuang studies research library, an online database compiling global research findings and first-hand information related to Dunhuang studies, was launched on Tuesday. The online library covers manuscripts from the Dunhuang Academy’s collection, historical images, e-books on Dunhuang studies and research findings by scholars from home and abroad. The new database also…
(22 Aug 2024) The Geography and Map Division [of Library of Congress] is excited to support the newly launched “Library of Congress Geospatial Applications” Hub site! Hosted in ArcGIS Online, a web-based platform created by Esri, “the Hub” provides online users with a new way to explore the Library’s wide range of StoryMaps and web…
(10 Apr 2024) In today’s Kitchen Essentials interview, we hear from Tasha Mellins-Cohen, Executive Director of COUNTER Metrics, a non-profit organization that provides a Code of Practice to enable publishers and vendors to report usage of their electronic resources in a consistent way. COUNTER is used — and supported by — a global community of library, publisher…
(25 May 2023) WHO is proud to announce a transformative digital platform, data.who.int, a one-stop shop for health data. Data.who.int fulfills WHO’s commitment to provide health data as a public good; it is powered by the ambitious technologies of WHO’s World Health Data Hub, delivering an end-to-end solution for WHO data processes. From collection to use,…
(20 Apr 2023) Today, WHO is launching the Health Inequality Data Repository, the most comprehensive global collection of publicly available disaggregated data and evidence on population health and its determinants. The repository allows for tracking health inequalities across population groups and over time, by breaking down data according to group characteristics, ranging from education level to…
(31 Mar 2023) A few collections are added to the Library of Congress’ digital collections, including: Africana Historic Postcard Collection: 1,200 postcards documenting representations of African life from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Gisella Selden-Goth collection: Musicologist and collector Gisella Selden-Goth’s holograph manuscripts collection, personal Autographen album and a chronological register of her manuscript…