(4 May 2021) From Microsoft press release: Microsoft Research will continue to support the automated AI agents powering Microsoft Academic services through the end of calendar year 2021. During this time, we encourage existing Microsoft Academic users to begin transitioning to other equivalent services. Below are just a few of the many great options…
(14 Jan 2021) The year 2020 was marked by the global COVID-19 pandemic and the Europe PMC team, like many others around the world, started to work from home. Scientific literature is at the heart of scientific research and during these extraordinary times, Europe PMC worked on improving existing services, building new features, increasing the…
(11 Nov 2020) From Aaron Tay’s Musings about librarianship: “In terms of cross disciplinary citation indexes that are used for discovery, everyone knows of the two incumbents — Web of Science and Scopus(2004). Joined by the large web scale Google Scholar (2004), these three reigned as the “Big 3” of citation indexes for roughly a decade more or less…
(8 Nov 2020) With over 100,000 volumes, the Southeast Asia Collection of Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin is the most extensive collection of its kind in Germany and one of the most important Southeast Asia collections worldwide. The collection includes publications from all eleven Southeast Asian countries. In addition to a wide range of western language literature…
(24 Sept 2020) The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) today launched WIPO Lex-Judgments, a new database providing free-of-charge access to leading judicial decisions related to IP law from around the world. As technological innovation often outpaces the ability of legislatures and governments to create new rules and regulations, courts across the world are increasingly…
(22 Sept 2020) Papers Past is the National Library’s fully text searchable website containing over 150 newspapers from New Zealand and the Pacific, as well as magazines, journals and government reports. As a result of the data being released, people can now access the data from 78 New Zealand newspapers from the Albertland Gazette to…
(27 Aug 2020) Responding to the exceptional challenges and demands that strain physicians during the COVID-19 pandemic, the American Medical Association (AMA) today announced a new series of open access educational modules offering proven strategies to support the well-being of physicians during a time of acute stress. “Just as we are able to flatten…
(23 Mar 2020) As efforts to contain the effects of the COVID-19 crisis ramp up, millions of people around the globe are social distancing and self-quarantining themselves in their own homes. To support those in search of diversion from the relentless news cycle, Smithsonian magazine has compiled a collection of 68 online culture, history and science collections…
(28 Feb 2020) Medicom Medical Publishers announced it will provide free access to the entire Medicom Conference Reports library to medical specialists in China and other Asian countries affected by the COVID-19 virus. Thereby living up to its mission to bring the Congress to the Physician. Many medical specialists from China and other Asian countries…
(13 Feb 2020) The rise of preprint repositories has helped scientists worldwide to share results and get feedback quickly. But several platforms that serve researchers in emerging economies are struggling to raise money to stay afloat. One, which hosts research from Indonesia, has decided to close because of this funding shortfall. Nature has the full…