A guide to millions of free, hi-res images
(18 June 2014) OEDb.org lists and describes several little known collections offering millions of free hi-res images. Visit the list here.
Read Article
SciFinder® and ChemDraw® software connection now available to customers
(18 June 2014, Columbus, Ohio) Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), the world’s authority for chemical information, and PerkinElmer, have officially released their shared research solution, pairing SciFinder®, the choice for chemistry research™, with ChemDraw® software, the drawing tool of choice for chemists. The ChemDraw platform is a digital drawing tool for chemists and biologists to create…
World Bank and IFC launch Global Consumption Database
(11 June 2014) The World Bank’s Development Data Group and the IFC recently joined forces to launch the Global Consumption Database, the most comprehensive dataset to date on consumer spending patterns in developing countries. The database, based on government surveys of more than one million households in more than 90 countries, will help companies discover…
New academic collections from Alexander Street Press
(10 June 2014, Alexandria, VA) Powerful new online academic collections are now available from Alexander Street Press in the fields of international business, human resource management, counseling and therapy, and Asian film. The two newest resources in the Business division—International Business Online and Human Resource Management Online—are available as stand-alone resources or as part of…
ANU Archives launches new database
(6 June 2014) The Australian National University Archives has launched a new database which makes national treasures of business, unions and The University available online for the first time. National Archives of Australia Director-General David Fricker launched the new ANU Archives database, which includes historic documents from Australia’s colonial history. Among the treasures are copies…
HTRC alpha release of extracted features dataset
(June 2014) The HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC) has announced the alpha release of a new dataset, consisting of page-level features extracted from a quarter-million text volumes. HTRC Extracted Features Dataset: https://sandbox.htrc.illinois.edu/HTRC-UI-Portal2/Features Features are data attributes defined in such a way that they can be identified by a computer and analyzed at scale. The HTRC Feature…
Alexander Street Press adds 50 series of EC Comics
(27 May 2014, Alexandria, VA) Alexander Street Press has entered into an agreement with EC Comics to add more than 50 key series—a total of 400 issues—from the celebrated publisher into the recently launched online collection Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: Volume II. “EC’s amazing line of horror, crime, fantasy, and romance…
What’s New in SciFinder?
(May 2014) The latest release of SciFinder features the integration of ChemDraw and SciFinder, improvements to the Analyze feature, and further enhancements to the Non-Java CAS Structure Editor. The functionality of this landmark collaboration between CAS and PerkinElmer enables ChemBioDraw Ultra 14 users to initiate a SciFinder search from within the ChemDraw interface, and then be…
State Library of NSW creating largest collection of digitised newspapers in Australia
(15 May 2014) Over 4.5 million pages of historical newspapers are now fully searchable online as part of the State Library of NSW’s major initiative funded by the NSW State Government to fast track the digitisation of its entire newspaper collection. This first major milestone in the State Library’s extensive AUD22.4 million digitisation program is…
Protein Data Bank releases 100,000th structure
(14 May 2014) The Worldwide Protein Data Bank (wwPDB) has released its 100,000th biological molecular structure to the community. Established in 1971, this central, public archive of experimentally-determined protein and nucleic acid structures has reached this important milestone thanks to the efforts of structural biologists all over the world. The Wellcome Trust is a supporter of the…