Complimentary access to all SAGE journals
SAGE is offering free access to its award-winning online research tools and resources until 31 October 2013. More here.
Read Article
ProQuest announces ProQuest® Indian Journals
(Ann Arbor, Mich., 1 October 2013) ProQuest is serving the dramatic growth in academic research in India with its first solution designed specifically for this market. ProQuest® Indian Journals enables researchers from around the world to cross-search and access premier academic journals published entirely in India along with other ProQuest content all in one step. ProQuest…
Academic Database Assessment Tool
(Note that none of the ADAT links below have worked for a year or more.) (See also http://www.crl.edu/news/database-assessment-tool-available-crl) (20 October 2016) The ADAT website notes that The Academic Database Assessment Tool (ADAT), which was originally developed by JISC and later hosted at CRL, has been discontinued. The descriptive information on electronic resources, however, has been…
Very Short Introductions are now available online
(24 September 2013) Oxford University Press has announced that the popular Very Short Introductions series is now available in an easily discoverable, fully cross-searchable, and highly accessible online platform, available via institutional subscription. Very Short Introductions are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly, providing an intelligent and serious introduction to…
New titles added to University Press Scholarship Online
(26 September 2013) New titles have been added to University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) with the September 2013 content update. This update has added over 500 titles to the platform across more than 20 subject areas including Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, and Religion. This new content has been brought to UPSO from 13…
HIV/AIDS database update
(25 September 2013, United States Census Bureau) This compilation of data from 219 countries and areas on the prevalence of HIV infection and AIDS cases and deaths is updated to include new data for more than 100 countries. Major updates include new data for China, Ghana, Ethiopia, India and Cameroon. The database focuses on HIV/AIDS…
China patent collection added to WIPO PATENTSCOPE
(Geneva, 20 September 2013) WIPO has added China’s national patent collection to the searchable PATENTSCOPE database, pushing the service past the 30 million record mark and increasing it to 34 national and regional patent collections, giving users an unrivalled geographical diversity of fully-searchable data. With the addition of about 3 million documents from China, WIPO’s…
Royal Society of Chemistry acquires MarinLit
(19 September 2013) David James, Executive Director of Strategic Innovation at the Royal Society of Chemistry, said: “We are delighted to announce that we have completed the acquisition of MarinLit. “Over the last 25 years John Blunt, Murray Munro and their colleagues at the University of Canterbury have developed the leading marine natural product (MNP)…
The Rare & Special eZone @ HKUST
(19 September 2013) The Rare & Special eZone is the search and retrieval interface for accessing publicly available digitized materials from the Hong Kong University of Science & Technology Library’s University Archives and Special Collections. Currently this database contains more than 300 images of maps, 100 volumes of books, 700 images of posters, and the…
Broadening Google patents
(17 September 2013) Last year Google launched two improvements to Google Patents: the Prior Art Finder and European Patent Office (EPO) patents. Today sees the addition of documents from four new patent agencies: China, Germany, Canada, and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Many of these documents may provide prior art for future patent applications,…