(19 September 2014, Geneva) The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) today launched a new database providing free access to a wealth of multilingual scientific and technical terminology. Through its web-based interface, WIPO Pearl promotes accurate and consistent use of terms across different languages, and makes it easier to search and share scientific and technical knowledge.…
(19 September 2014) The Getty has announced a new partnership with the Digital Public Library of America. Collaboration has begun with nearly 100,000 records for digital images and texts from the Getty Research Institute’s Library and Special Collections, which contain a vast trove of rare and unique materials for the study of visual culture. As…
(16 September 2014) The Medical Heritage Library (MHL) and DPLA have announced that MHL content can now be discovered through DPLA. The MHL, a specialized research collection stored in the Internet Archive, currently includes nearly 60,000 digital rare books, serials, audio and video recordings, and ephemera in the history of medicine, public health, biomedical sciences,…
(9 September 2014) The National Institutes of Health (NIH) today launched ClinRegs, an online public database of country-specific clinical research regulatory information. The ClinRegs website, created and maintained by NIH’s National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), enables users to explore and compare regulations across different countries. Asian countries include India, Thailand and China.…
(29 August 2014) The BBC website reports that an American academic is creating a searchable database of 12 million historical copyright-free images. Kalev Leetaru has already uploaded 2.6 million pictures to Flickr, which are searchable thanks to tags that have been automatically added. The photos and drawings are sourced from more than 600 million library…
(2 September 2014) The contribution from Shanghai Library, the largest public library in China and one of the largest libraries in the world, enhances the richness and depth of Chinese materials in WorldCat as well as the discoverability of these collections around the world. The records represent books and journals published between 1911 and 2013…
(30 August 2014) Get a free Artstor Digital Library account. The benefits include organizing images into groups, downloading in zipped files and sharing with others. Further details including registration are in the blog post.
(20 August 2014, Alexandria, VA) – Three hundred celebrated films from the Criterion Collection are now available in a high-definition streaming collection from Alexander Street Press. The Criterion Collection is an online database that includes 300 of the most influential films of the 20th century from one of cinema’s most respected distributors. This optimized online…
(13 August 2014) Artstor and the J. Paul Getty Museum have released more than 5,000 images from the museum’s Open Content Program in the Digital Library. The Getty’s Open Content Program makes available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain. Among the images now available in…
It’s called Chronicling America, a website from the Library of Congress providing digitized searchable facsimiles of historic American newspapers. But it’s also a great source of historic news and reporting on Asia. Having recently passed the 8 million pages landmark, these antique newspapers covering the period 1836-1922, are full of news about Asia, perhaps more then…
| Cookie | Duration | Description |
|---|---|---|
| cookielawinfo-checkbox-analytics | 11 months | This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Analytics". |
| cookielawinfo-checkbox-functional | 11 months | The cookie is set by GDPR cookie consent to record the user consent for the cookies in the category "Functional". |
| cookielawinfo-checkbox-necessary | 11 months | This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookies is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Necessary". |
| cookielawinfo-checkbox-others | 11 months | This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Other. |
| cookielawinfo-checkbox-performance | 11 months | This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Performance". |
| viewed_cookie_policy | 11 months | The cookie is set by the GDPR Cookie Consent plugin and is used to store whether or not user has consented to the use of cookies. It does not store any personal data. |
Enter your email address to receive the bi-weekly eNewsletter
