Databases – Page 24

SAGE Publishing launches new SAGE video collections in business and management, politics and international relations and psychology

Databases, PublishersJuly 15, 2016

(12 July 2016, London, UK) SAGE Publishing today announced the launch of three new exclusive SAGE Video collections: Business and Management, Politics and International Relations and Psychology. Designed to support research and learning, these three extensive and diverse streaming video collections feature 400 hours of video combined. Bringing key social science fields of research to…

Read Article

Announcing the development of SocArXiv, an open social science archive

DatabasesJuly 12, 2016

(9 July 2016) SocArXiv announces a partnership with the Center for Open Science to develop a free, open access, open source archive for social science research. The initiative responds to growing recognition of the need for faster, open sharing of research on a truly open access platform for the social sciences. Papers on SocArXiv will…

Read Article

Massive open-access database on human cultures

Databases, Open AccessJuly 11, 2016

(8 July 2016) D-PLACE – the Database of Places, Language, Culture and Environment – is an expandable, open access database that brings together a dispersed body of information on the language, geography, culture and environment of more than 1,400 human societies. It comprises information mainly on pre-industrial societies that were described by ethnographers in the…

Read Article

Primary Research Group has published the Survey of Academic Library Database Licensing Practices, 2016-17 Edition

DatabasesJuly 1, 2016

(1 July 2016) This international study (ISBN 978-157440-399-2)presents data from 29 colleges and universities about their database licensing practices, including spending data on eBooks, databases, and eJournals. The report looks closely at trends in how staff time is consumed on issues such as invoice-checking, contract examination, training patrons in database use and other tasks. In…

Read Article

Increasing numbers of UK academics now utilise university online capabilities

Databases, eBooks, eJournals, LibrariesJuly 1, 2016

UK wide survey examines the attitudes of practitioners within higher education and cites the growing importance of online libraries to academics (15 June 2016) The 2015 survey of academics, jointly commissioned by Jisc and RLUK and conducted by research organisation Ithaka S+R, was launched today and has revealed a substantial increase in the way academics…

Read Article

Ancient medical manuscripts now online available at the click of a button

Asia Pacific, Databases, DigitizationJune 30, 2016

(30 June 2016) Thousands of ancient medical manuscripts, including several written on palm leaves centuries ago, are now available at the click of a button thanks to a decade long effort by researchers at Bengaluru’s TransDisciplinary University (TDU) in India A list of 10,000 medical manuscripts out of 17,009 that have been digitally catalogued was…

Read Article

CAS continues to provide unparalleled discoverability of chemistry with the launch of ChemZentTM

Databases, ToolsJune 30, 2016

(28 June 2016, Columbus, OH) CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society introduces ChemZent, a new solution available for purchase in SciFinder. ChemZent delivers the complete collection of approximately three million abstracts from Chemisches Zentralblatt, the oldest compendium of chemistry abstracts dating from 1830-1969. ChemZent brings unique value to researchers, professors, students and information…

Read Article

The Getty Research Portal grows with a new design and more than 100,000 digitized volumes

Databases, DigitizationJune 17, 2016

(15 June 2016) Marking the occasion of its four-year anniversary, the Getty Research Portal has been rebuilt and redesigned, making it easier to explore the digitized literature of art history. The Portal is a catalog providing free access to books and journals made available online by contributing institutions. A project of the Getty Research Institute…

Read Article

ProQuest completes digitization of rare books at Wellcome Library

Databases, Digitization, PublishersJune 12, 2016

(9 June 2016, Ann Arbor, Mich.) ProQuest’s renowned Early European Books (EEB) program now includes nearly 10,000 digitized titles and more than 4 million pages from the Wellcome Library, the pre-eminent collection in Europe devoted to the history of medicine and related topics. In collaboration during the past five years with its scanning vendor, Numen,…

Read Article

Elsevier teams up with Berlin-based scientific collaboration platform PaperHive

Databases, PublishersJune 4, 2016

(31 May 2016, Amsterdam) Elsevier will collaborate with Berlin-based scientific collaboration platform PaperHive to enable researchers to easily discover, share and annotate the over 12 million articles on ScienceDirect, the world’s largest database of scientific, technical and medical full text content. “It’s Elsevier’s ambition to support researchers by developing the best and most efficient workflow solutions…

Read Article

Cookie	Duration	Description
cookielawinfo-checkbox-analytics	11 months	This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Analytics".
cookielawinfo-checkbox-functional	11 months	The cookie is set by GDPR cookie consent to record the user consent for the cookies in the category "Functional".
cookielawinfo-checkbox-necessary	11 months	This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookies is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Necessary".
cookielawinfo-checkbox-others	11 months	This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Other.
cookielawinfo-checkbox-performance	11 months	This cookie is set by GDPR Cookie Consent plugin. The cookie is used to store the user consent for the cookies in the category "Performance".
viewed_cookie_policy	11 months	The cookie is set by the GDPR Cookie Consent plugin and is used to store whether or not user has consented to the use of cookies. It does not store any personal data.