Registrations open for ICSTI 2019 Annual Conference in Shanghai

(24 May 2019)  The International Council for Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI) has announced that its 2019 Annual Conference will take place in Shanghai on September 23-26. Themed ‘Open Science and Open Innovation’, the conference is part of a bigger event co-organised with the Shanghai Competitive Intelligence Forum (SCIF) and the Institute of Scientific and Technical Information of China (ISTIC) and generously hosted by Shanghai Library/Institute of Scientific & Technical Information of Shanghai (ISTIS). The conference will also present the high-level ITOC and TACC workshops on September 26, 2019.

Admission to the event is free for ICSTI members. The early bird rate (RMB 1200 or US$ 200) is available through July 31 for other delegates. Practical information for the Conference registration, registration costs and accommodation is available at

Devoted to the theme of ‘Open Science and Open Innovation’, Conference opens with keynote presentations given by speakers nominated by ICSTI. The two Keynotes at the Conference are: Jeannette Frey (President, LIBER) and Brian Hitson (Director, DOE/OSTI).

A morning session organised by the Shanghai Competitive Intelligence Forum (SCIF) will follow. In the afternoon the joint Forum on Knowledge Technology Applications and Information Management Services organised by ICSTI’s member organisations from China (ISTIC), Japan (JST), and Korea (KISTI) is confirmed.

Chaired by Margret Plank of TIB, the ITOC Workshop organised by the Information Trends and Opportunities Committee of ICSTI will present an in-depth perspective on ‘Open Science – Latest Developments and Initiatives’.

Confirmed speakers include: Yasushi Ogasaka, Head of Open Science, JST, Rafael Ball, Director of ETH Library, Junseon Yoo, Pluto Network, and Edward LIM Junhao, New York University, Shanghai.

Chaired by Brian Hitson of DOE/OSTI, the TACC Workshop organised by the Technical Activities Coordinating Committee of ICSTI will focus on ‘Technology Enabled Innovation in Open Science’. Confirmed speakers include: Bo Alroe, Director of Strategy, Digital Science, Martin Fenner, Force 11, Matthew Buys and Estelle Cheng, ORCID, and Kazutsuna Yamaji, Japan National Institute of Informatics.

The announcement is here.