Tag Archives: databases

IGI Global new unprecedented InfoSci-Database pricing

(2 April 2018) Reinforcing its commitment to the complete worldwide dissemination of innovative research, IGI Global, a leading academic publisher, is offering unprecedented pricing for its award-winning InfoSci-Databases including InfoSci-Journals and InfoSci-Books. This new pricing structure is designed to ensure that institutions worldwide have the ability to acquire the latest innovative research at affordable rates. […]


Read More...


ProQuest launches displaced researchers program

No-charge access to ProQuest databases helps individuals continue their research and learning (9 February 2017, Ann Arbor, MI)   ProQuest has launched a program to provide no-cost access to its databases for students and researchers who have been separated from their universities and libraries because of travel bans or other immigration changes. The company has an […]


Read More...


Primary Research Group has published the Survey of Academic Library Database Licensing Practices, 2016-17 Edition

(1 July 2016) This international study (ISBN 978-157440-399-2)presents data from 29 colleges and universities about their database licensing practices, including spending data on eBooks, databases, and eJournals.  The report looks closely at trends in how staff time is consumed on issues such as invoice-checking, contract examination, training patrons in database use and other tasks.  In […]


Read More...


Digital Science launches GRID, a new, global, open database offering unique information on research organisations

(12 October 2015, London & Boston)  Digital Science today launched the Global Research Identifier Database (GRID), a free, easy-to-use online database that opens up information about research organisations around the world to data scientists, developers and innovators within academic and commercial organisations. The GRID dataset addresses the problem of messy and inconsistent data on research […]


Read More...


Data bank launched in Australia for global access to ancient DNA

(17 June 2015) Medical and other researchers and science teachers around the world will be able to compare ancient DNA from humans from thousands of years ago with the genetics of modern day humans, thanks to a new world-first open access databank at the University of Adelaide’s Australian Centre for Ancient DNA (ACAD). The Online […]


Read More...


The 4th China-Japan-Korea Digital Library Initiative (CJKDLI) meeting

(April 2015) The fourth meeting of the China-Japan-Korea Digital Library Initiative (CJKDLI) was held on 9 to 10 December 2014, in Beijing, China. The CJKDLI is a collaborative project between the National Library of China (NLC), the National Diet Library (NDL) and the National Library of Korea (NLK), aiming at integrated search and use of […]


Read More...


Singapore Management University launches “Investment Studio” for students to conduct business and financial research

(27 January 2015) The Singapore Management University launched the Investment Studio on 15th January 2015 for students to conduct business and financial research. The newly-renovated, state-of-the-art facility is located within the Li Ka Shing Library and houses high-end financial terminals such as Bloomberg, Thomson Reuters and EIKON while allowing access to many other business and […]


Read More...


Take the database licensing survey

Primary Research Group, publisher of research reports and surveys about libraries, is surveying public, academic and special libraries worldwide for a report on their database licensing practices. Participants receive a free PDF copy of the report generated from the survey data.  Participants are listed in the report but answers are confidential. To take the survey […]


Read More...


IET boosts China presence with EEFOCUS partnership

(21 January 2013) The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and Chinese engineering portal EEFOCUS have announced a partnership that will see the IET’s essential engineering intelligence made available to over one million researchers and academics throughout China. A sample selection of articles from the IET Digital Library will be available free of charge and […]


Read More...