Four nominated for the award as the world’s best public library

(29 June 2016) The field has been narrowed to four libraries competing to win the ‘Systematic – Public Library of the Year 2016’ prize, which is awarded to the world’s best new public library.

The libraries, from Australia, the US, and Denmark, respectively, have been nominated for the prize as the world’s best new public library. The prize will be awarded at the annual meeting of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) in Columbus, Ohio, USA on 15 August. The four nominees are:

  • Chicago Public Library, Chinatown Branch, USA
  • Dokk1, Aarhus, Denmark
  • Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Australia
  • Success Public Library, Australia

The ‘Systematic – Public Library of the Year’ award is part of the ‘Model Programme for Public Libraries’ project of the Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces and Realdania, and the prize is sponsored by the IT firm Systematic.

The purpose of the programme is to develop the library of the future, so it takes into account, among other things, digital developments, user demands, local culture, and the desire to accommodate diverse population groups with an open and functional architectural expression.

The library must be a newly-built or refurbished in buildings that have not previously been used as a library. The opening of the new library must have taken place in the period between 1 January 2014 and 1 June 2016. The prize is for $5,000.

Read more about the nominees and the library of the future at the Model Programme’s homepage.

The announcement in full is here.